For a Burkina Faso
100% solar!

Burkina Faso

Image: the locations of the partners is indicated in orange 

Burkina Faso (“land of the upright people”) is a West African country located south of the Niger Arc and bordered by Mali, Niger, Benin, Togo, Ghana and the Ivory Coast. The country gained its independence on August 5, 1960. Until August 4, 1984, it had been known as “Upper Volta”, the name it had received as a French colony.

In the past few years, Burkina Faso has been caught in a spiral of violence that can be traced to various armed jihadist groups, some are affiliated with Al Qaeda, others with the Islamic State group. The attacks are particularly violent in the north and east of the country. The Burkinabe army is working hard to combat and stop this violence.

Land in Westafrika

Political situation

On Monday, January 24, 2022, a military coup took place in Burkina Faso. A junta led by Lt. Col. Paul-Henri Sandaogo Damiba deposed President Roch Marc Christian Kaboré, who was democratically elected in 2015. One motive was the inefficiency of the security policy, which allocated insufficient resources to the army to overcome terrorist violence. The junta is currently enjoying some support from the Burkinabe people. The insecure situation and the high number of people displaced in their own country, but also political measures taken by the junta, have led to considerable inflation and a significant slowdown in economic life.

Country informations

The administrative and cultural capital of the country, which has a population of 21 million, is the centrally located metropolis of Ouagadougou. The predominantly flat landlocked country, with shares of the Greater Sudan and the Sahel zone, is characterized by a tropical climate and diverse savannah landscapes. About half of the Burkinabe belong to the politically dominant Mossi ethnic group, who lived in several strictly hierarchically organized kingdoms until they were colonized by France at the end of the 19th century. About 60 native languages are spoken in Burkina Faso. Islam is the most widely practiced religion (60.5%), followed by Christianity (23.2%) and Animism (15.3%). Burkina Faso is one of the poorest countries in the world, but today it is characterized by the cultural diversity of the ethnic groups living peacefully together.

Among other things, Burkina Faso hosts the pan-African film festival FESPACO, which takes place every two years.

Land in Westafrika

Pour un Burkina Faso
100% solaire!

Informations sur le pays

Le Burkina Faso (« le pays des hommes intègres »), est un pays d'Afrique de l'Ouest situé au sud de l'arc du Niger et bordé par le Mali, le Niger, le Bénin, le Togo, le Ghana et la Côte d'Ivoire. Le pays a obtenu son indépendance le 5 août 1960. Jusqu'au 4 août 1984, le nom de Haute-Volta, qu'il a reçu à l'époque de la colonisation française, avait été utilisé

Depuis plusieurs années, le Burkina Faso est victime d’une spirale de violence attribuée à divers groupes armés djihadistes. Certains sont affiliés à Al-Qaïda, d'autres au groupe État Islamique. Les attaques sont particulièrement violentes dans le nord et l'est du pays. L'armée burkinabé fait beaucoup d’efforts pour combattre et arrêter ces violences.

Image : les emplacements des partenariats sont indiqués en orange .

Land in Westafrika

Situation politique

Un coup d'État militaire a eu lieu au Burkina Faso le lundi 24 janvier 2022 : une junte dirigée par le lieutenant-colonel Paul-Henri Sandaogo Damiba a déposé le président Roch Marc Christian Kaboré, élu démocratiquement en 2015. L'un des motifs était l'inefficacité de la politique de sécurité, qui aurait alloué des ressources insuffisantes à l'armée pour venir à bout de la violence terroriste. La junte bénéficie actuellement d'un certain soutien de la part du peuple burkinabé. La situation d'insécurité et le nombre élevé des personnes déplacées dans leur propre pays, mais aussi les mesures politiques prises par la junte, provoquent une inflation considérable et un ralentissement important de la vie économique

Informations générales sur le pays

Burkina Faso compte environ 21 millions d'habitants, et sa capitale administrative et culturelle est la mégapole centrale de Ouagadougou. Le pays n’a pas d’accès à la mer. Sa topographie, sans relief prononcé, inclue une partie de la région du Soudan et de la zone sahélienne. Le pays est caractérisé par un climat tropical et par des paysages de savane diversifiés. La moitié environ des Burkinabé appartient à l'ethnie Mossi, politiquement dominante, et qui avait constitué plusieurs royaumes strictement hiérarchisés jusqu'à leur colonisation par la France à la fin du XIXe siècle. Il existe environ 60 langues au Burkina Faso. L'islam est la religion la plus pratiquée ; les musulmans regroupent 60,5 % de la population, les chrétiens 23,2 % et les animistes 15,3 %. Le Burkina Faso est l'un des pays les plus pauvres du monde, mais il se caractérise aujourd'hui par la diversité culturelle d’ethnies cohabitant pacifiquement.

Entre autres, le Burkina Faso accueille le festival panafricain du film FESPACO, qui a lieu tous les deux ans.

Land in Westafrika