For a Burkina Faso
100% solar!

Burkina Faso

Image: the locations of the partners is indicated in orange 

Burkina Faso (“land of the upright people”) is a West African country located south of the Niger Arc and bordered by Mali, Niger, Benin, Togo, Ghana and the Ivory Coast. The country gained its independence on August 5, 1960. Until August 4, 1984, it had been known as “Upper Volta”, the name it had received as a French colony.

In the past few years, Burkina Faso has been caught in a spiral of violence that can be traced to various armed jihadist groups, some are affiliated with Al Qaeda, others with the Islamic State group. The attacks are particularly violent in the north and east of the country. The Burkinabe army is working hard to combat and stop this violence.

Land in Westafrika

Political situation

On Monday, January 24, 2022, a military coup took place in Burkina Faso. A junta led by Lt. Col. Paul-Henri Sandaogo Damiba deposed President Roch Marc Christian Kaboré, who was democratically elected in 2015. One motive was the inefficiency of the security policy, which allocated insufficient resources to the army to overcome terrorist violence. The junta is currently enjoying some support from the Burkinabe people. The insecure situation and the high number of people displaced in their own country, but also political measures taken by the junta, have led to considerable inflation and a significant slowdown in economic life.

Country informations

The administrative and cultural capital of the country, which has a population of 21 million, is the centrally located metropolis of Ouagadougou. The predominantly flat landlocked country, with shares of the Greater Sudan and the Sahel zone, is characterized by a tropical climate and diverse savannah landscapes. About half of the Burkinabe belong to the politically dominant Mossi ethnic group, who lived in several strictly hierarchically organized kingdoms until they were colonized by France at the end of the 19th century. About 60 native languages are spoken in Burkina Faso. Islam is the most widely practiced religion (60.5%), followed by Christianity (23.2%) and Animism (15.3%). Burkina Faso is one of the poorest countries in the world, but today it is characterized by the cultural diversity of the ethnic groups living peacefully together.

Among other things, Burkina Faso hosts the pan-African film festival FESPACO, which takes place every two years.

Land in Westafrika

Für ein Burkina Faso
100 % solar!

Burkina Faso

Bild: in Orange die Orte der Partnerschaften 

Burkina Faso, übersetzt Land des aufrichtigen Menschen, ist ein westafrikanischer Staat, der südlich des Nigerbogens liegt und an Mali, Niger, Benin, Togo, Ghana sowie an die Elfenbeinküste grenzt. Seine Unabhängigkeit erlangte das Land am 5. August 1960. Bis zum 4. August 1984 wurde der Name Obervolta, den es in seiner Zeit als französische Kolonie erhielt, verwendet.

Burkina Faso ist seit mehreren Jahren in einer Gewaltspirale gefangen, die verschiedenen bewaffneten djihadistischen Gruppen zugeschrieben wird. Einige sind mit Al Qaida, andere mit der Gruppe Islamischer Staat verbunden. Die Übergriffe sind im Norden und Osten des Landes besonders heftig. Die burkinische Armee setzt sich für die Bekämpfung und Unterbindung diese Gewalt stark ein.

 

Land in Westafrika

Politische Situation

Am Montag, den 24. Januar 2022 fand in Burkina Faso ein Militärputsch statt. Eine von Oberstleutnant Paul-Henri Sandaogo Damiba geführte Junta setzte den 2015 demokratisch gewählten Präsidenten Roch Marc Christian Kaboré ab. Ein Beweggrund war die Ineffizienz der Sicherheitspolitik, welche der Armee zur Überwindung terroristischer Gewalt ungenügende Mittel zuwies. Die Junta erhält aktuell eine gewisse Unterstützung der burkinischen Bevölkerung. Die unsichere Lage und die hohe Anzahl der im eigenen Land Vertriebenen, aber auch politische Massnahmen der Junta, sorgen für eine beträchtliche Teuerung und für eine deutliche Verlangsamung des wirtschaftlichen Lebens.

Landesinformationen

Administrative und kulturelle Hauptstadt des rund 21 Millionen Einwohner zählenden Landes ist die zentral gelegene Millionenstadt Ouagadougou. Der vorwiegend flache Binnenstaat mit Anteilen an der Großlandschaft Sudan und der Sahelzone ist durch tropisches Klima und verschiedenartige Savannenlandschaften geprägt. Etwa die Hälfte der Burkiner (Burkinabe) zählt zur politisch dominierenden Ethnie der Mossi, die bis zur Kolonisierung durch Frankreich Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts in mehreren streng hierarchisch organisierten Reichen lebten. In Burkina Faso werden etwa 60 einheimische Sprachen gesprochen. Der Islam ist die meistpraktizierte Religion (60.5%) Christen (23.2%) und Animisten (15.3%). Burkina Faso gehört zu den ärmsten Ländern der Welt, zeichnet sich heute aber durch die kulturelle Vielfalt der friedlich zusammenlebenden Ethnien aus.

Burkina Faso richtet unter anderem das alle zwei Jahre stattfindende panafrikanische Filmfestival FESPACO aus.

Land in Westafrika